Thing 1

Some thoughts on Social Media…

When I think of social media, Facebook is the first thing that comes to mind, although I have generated a profile page with at least five other companies (e.g. Twitter, LinkedIn). My first experience with social media goes back 10 years, when my cousin sent me an invitation to join Facebook. At the time we were both enrolled in universities and one of the conditions to join Facebook was to have a(n) (particular) academic email address. For over a year and a half my profile was quite lonely as there were literally just two friends on my list… until Facebook went “more public”. Since then its affordances, privacy settings and purpose have changed dramatically, but my need to use it has gone away….due to the ubiquitous train delays, however, I still log in to Facebook on a daily basis….but as a more boring passive observer rather than a creative active participant.

Although Facebook, for instance, provides various opportunities for researchers to interact with each other (e.g. creating conference events), I feel that many people perceive it as a more private form of communication. ResearchGate and Academia.edu, on the other hand, were developed precisely for this reason and the number of researchers joining these types of social media platforms is growing rapidly. Their main aim is to increase researchers’ visibility, help disseminate their research and facilitate networking. And although I use both, I feel that I still know very little about what they have to offer, what their advantages and drawbacks are, which is what I hope to explore and learn about during this course.

2 thoughts on “Thing 1

Leave a Reply

